Published: 05/05/2012 00:01 - Updated: 04/05/2012 16:28

Hung council for Moray

Candidates watch the votes being processed
Candidates watch the votes being processed

MORAY has a hung council.

Once the votes were verified for Fochabers Lhanbryde the make-up of the local authority became clear.

There are 10 SNP councillors, 10 Independents and three each for the Conservatives and Labour.

Discussions will be held over the next few days, but with the numbers so finely balanced it is not known if there will be an Independent lead coalition administration, or if there is a mandate for the SNP to go it alone as the largest party.

Previously the council was run by an Independent Tory coalition - with a split of 10 to one respectively - 10 SNP councillors in opposition, two Labour members, two non-aligned councillors and Conservative member for Fochabers Lhanbryde Douglas Ross, who left the administration mid-term.

He along with Independents Fiona Murdoch (Speyside Glenlivet) and Anne McKay (Buckie) - who also departed the ruling group - were all re-elected at the first stage of voting.

Former Forres councillor Jeff Hamilton, was the only Independent seeking re-election to lose his seat. He had been an elected member of Moray Council for 12 years.

< Back


Reddit Facebook Digg Twitter Bebo