Home   Sport   Article

Sporting achievers crowned at sportMoray awards in Elgin Town Hall

By Staff Reporter

Contribute to support quality local journalism

THIRTEEN winners were crowned at a successful sportMoray awards ceremony at Elgin Town Hall.

A total of 14 different awards were handed out, with Moray’s sports personality of the year then chosen from a select group of winners.

Ann Rossiter, sportMoray’s chairwoman, said: “The night was a great success.

“We have been recognising the achievements of our local sporting community for 21 years and each year has brought new faces and great stories to the fore and this year was no exception.

“It was a privilege to play a part in the evening.”

Forres’s Stephen Sharpe (45), who also won the Veteran Award, was crowned sports personality of the year at the end of the night. Scotland women's football team captain Rachel Corsie was the guest speaker.

The Intermediate Team Award, sponsored by the Northern Scot, went to West End Primary School’s badminton team. Winners were: Inspiring Darts (Community Engagement Award), Elgin Duellist Fencing Club (Senior Team Award), Gareth Jenkins, Elgin, (Local Service to Sport Award), Rona McCaig and Carol Campbell, Buckie, (Club Level Award), Jane Hay, Fochabers, (School Sport Volunteer Award), Kate McLuckie, Elgin, (Junior Sports Athlete), Neal Anderson, Rothes, (Coach Award), Henry Stephen, Forres, (Senior Sports Athlete), Lonach Shaw, Aberlour, and Lucy Evans, Forres, (Intermediate Sportsman and Sportswoman), Isla Pritchard, Kinloss, and David Taylor, Elgin, (Special Achievement Award).

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More