Home   Sport   Article

Grampian Kart Club welcomes racers back to the track at Boyndie circuit in Banffshire

By David Porter

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Have a look at our brand new digital subscription packages!

The third meeting of the year at Boyndie was again held over two days to reduce the number of people on site.

With good weather for driving over the two days, dry conditions saw two lap records broken.

Feature Trophies were also held, on Saturday the GKC Cadet Cup for Cadet Class with the least points on the day and on Sunday the Pioneer Mutual Shield (any class) also for least points on the day

In the Bambino class, Amaya Thomson looked the quickest of the four bambino drivers in the four time trial heats setting the quickest time of 52.938 seconds in heat one. Jude Buchan was second followed by Cooper Earsman and Nico Henderson.

Prokart Light poleman Daniel MacRae took the lead and was never headed to chequered flag. Duncan Ross was second ahead of Mark Knowles and Richard Evans.

Honda Cadet drivers produced the best race of the day.

This followed the heats when Katie Donaldson and Aiden MacDonald broke the class record.

Donaldson set a new low of 43.531 seconds.

Donaldson led from the lights from Leo Massie and Aiden MacDonald and this trio opened a gap on the field.

Both Donaldson and MacDonald exchanged the lead several times.

Through Seafield they got too close as wheels interlocked and both were launched in the air but to no harm.

With the front trio squabbling a second trio of Daniel Dempster, Calvin Moffat and Duncan Ingram were closing in and on the last lap there was a snake of six.

Donaldson saw the chequered flag first with MacDonald, Massie, Dempster, Moffat and Ingram all within 1.2 seconds.

Logan Silvia-Domingo and Mya Simpson were under 0.2 seconds as the crossed the line for seventh and eighth and Vinnie Lewis and Theo Ingram completed the top ten.

Katie Donaldson. Picture: David Porter
Katie Donaldson. Picture: David Porter

Mini Max's Eihli Smith took a comfortable victory in the Mini Max class. A race long close battle for second place between Liam Watson and Kyle Smith was resolved in the former while Cameron Hobson was fourth.

Junior Max's Craig Steven led from the lights with the other three juniors of Darren Guijt, Mark Paterson and Cole Richie in hot pursuit.

Richie moved to third on the third tour. At the start of lap ten at Gate Corner Both Guijt and Richie got past Steven. The quadruple continued at great pace until the chequered flag.

Guijt took the victory was closely followed by Richie, Steven and Paterson all within two seconds.

In the Prokarts heavy Neil Halliwell took a lights to flag victory. Scott Duncan was second ahead of Greame Simpson, Ayrton Refern and Roy Wilson.

Historic Gearbox saw David Wiseman have a comfortable victory over Scott Benton who had a intermitted problem with a coil.

In the Senior Max 162kg Kes Watson, Steven Thomson and Jonathan Edwards formed a close relationship in the 162 final. The trio were bumper for the 15 lap final.

However positions did not change with Watson taking his first victory. Thomson was runner-up and Edwards third. Completing the top six were Ross Raffan, Dominic Lund and Steven Bain.

Senior Max 177kg saw a collision early on in the final between Stewart Thomson and Robert Strachan cause Thomson to retire because of a broken exhaust. Adrain Brodie was away but Strachan took up the chase closing Brodie down on the last lap. Brodie robustly defended and crossed the line ahead of Strachan. Strachan was disqualified for the earlier incident.

Katie Donaldson with the Cadet Cup
Katie Donaldson with the Cadet Cup

In the Senior Max Clubman John Fairclough had a comfortable victory over Raymond Campbell and Iain Thomson.

Twin Engined Prokart Crail champion Murray Scott, had set a new class lap record of 42.213 seconds earlier in the heats. From pole Scott led from Rik Christie, Nicky Sutherland And David Leiper. The order remained unaltered. Completing the top six were Sean Webb and Scott Webb.

KZ2 UK's (Gearbox) Ally Smith was the class of the field with a lights to flag victory. Neil Anderson slotted into second and was never troubled. Darren Scott fluffed the standing start and Ross Greig took advantage. Scott chased down Greig and it was on lap 11 at the end of the straight when he moved to third. No other changes took place.

Murray Scott with the Pioneer Mutual Shield
Murray Scott with the Pioneer Mutual Shield


Bambinos -1 Amaya Thomson (Prestonpans); 2 Jude Buchan (Mintlaw) and 3 Cooper Earsman (Whitehills).

Honda Cadets - 1 Katie Donaldson (Dufftown); 2 Aiden Macdonald (Woodhead) and 3 Leo Massie (Huntly).

Mini Max - 1 Eihli Smith (Westhill); 2 Liam Watson (Aberdeen) and 3 Kyle Smith (Aberdeen).

Junior Max - 1 Darren Guijt (Kennethmont); 2 Cole Rithie (Aberdeen) and 3 Craig Steven (Elgin).

Prokart (lights) -1 Daniel MacRae (Elgin); 2 Duncan Ross (Lumphanan) and 3 Mark Knowles (Aberdeen).

Prokart (heavy) -1 Neil Halliwell (Kintore); 2 Scott Duncan (Portsoy) and 3 Richard Evans (Banff).

Historic Gearbox -1 David Wiseman (Aberlour) and 2 Scott Benton (Aberdeen).

Senior Max -1 Kes Watson (Oldmeldrum); 2 Steven Thomson (Barthol Chapel) and 3 Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill).

Senior Max 177 - 1 Adrian Brodie (Banff) and 2 Stewart Thomson (Tarves).

Senior Max Clubman - 1 John Fairclough (Peathill); 2 Raymond Campbell (Buckie) and 3 Iain Thomson (Inchmarlo).

Twin Engined Prokart -1 Murray Scott (Glenrothes); 2 Rik Christie (Aberdeen) and 3 Nicky Sutherland (Stonehaven).

KZ2 UK (Gearbox) - 1 Ally Smith (Peterhead); 2 Neil Anderson (Insch) and 3 Darren Scott (Elgin).

Cadet Cup – Katie Donaldson (Dufftown)

Pioneer Mutual Shield – Murray Scott (Glenrothes)

The next BDOC will be 12th-13th July.

For more information see GKC website www.grampiankartclub.com

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Keep up-to-date with important news from your community, and access exclusive, subscriber only content online. Read a copy of your favourite newspaper on any device via the brand new HNM App.

Learn more

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More