Home   Sport   Article

Duff House Royal Golf Club's five-day open edges towards final stages

By Craig Christie

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

BANFFSHIRE golfing hopefuls are bidding for honours at this week's Duff House Royal five-day open.

Jim Barber came safely through the first two rounds of the section 1 handicap matchplay. Picture: Daniel Forsyth.
Jim Barber came safely through the first two rounds of the section 1 handicap matchplay. Picture: Daniel Forsyth.

Meldrum House golfer David Morrison shot the lowest 36-hole aggregate after Monday and Tuesday's strokeplay rounds, shooting 64 and 67 to top the leaderboard by four shots.

Home member Ross Mcauslin was the next best placed after rounds of 70 and 65 and both Morrison and Mcauslin came through Wednesday's opening matchplay round.

Half of the scratch qualifiers were from the Banff club, which was well represented as the two handicap sections were whittled down to the final eight golfers for today's play.

Ian Mutch won his opening matchplay contest at Duff House Royal. Picture: Daniel Forsyth.
Ian Mutch won his opening matchplay contest at Duff House Royal. Picture: Daniel Forsyth.

Scratch qualifiers (Duff House Royal unless stated otherwise):

131 David Morrison (Meldrum House) 64, 67

135 Ross Mcauslin 70, 65

139 Ross Mallon (Bathgate) 69, 70

140 Gavin Still 72, 68, Greg Buchan 72, 68

141 Scott Davidson (Dunfermline) 68, 73

143 Colin Taylor (Royal Dornoch) 70, 73

144 Bobby Wallace (Pitreavie) 72, 72

145 Ian Angus 73, 72, Calum Morrison (Inverurie) 74, 71. Kerr Baptie (Meldrum House) 76, 69

147 Kevin Thomson (Moray) 73, 74, Kevin J Thomson (Moray) 77, 70, David Johnston 68, 79, Daniel Watt 71, 76, Neil Campbell 74, 73

148 John McWilliams (Gullane) 73, 75, Ellis Gray 78, 70, Stuart Campbell (Renfrew) 73, 75, Gordon Coster (Renfrew) 74, 74, Kevin Sutherland 77, 71

149 Lee Wallace (Dunfermline) 74, 75, Boyd Gray 77, 72, Steven Ferguson 71, 78

150 Lewis West 75, 75, Euan Malcolm (Dunfermline) 76, 75, Callum Mclean 71, 79, Trevor Taylor (Glenearn) 77, 73, Craig Matheson 78, 72

151 Craig Thain 79, 72, Iain Galbraith (Murcar Links) 79, 72, Andrew Patterson 77, 74

Scratch matchplay

First round:

Johnston beat Mclean 4&2

C Taylor beat T Taylor 4&3

Angus beat Baptie 2&1

Gray beat West 2&1

Watt beat N Campbell 3&2

Mcauslin beat KJ Thomson 3&1

Mallon beat McWilliams 3&2

Matheson beat Gray 4&3

D Morrison beat C Morrison 5&4

Still beat Coster 4&3

B Wallace beat Davidson 4&3

Ferguson beat Patterson 1up

Galbraith beat Malcolm 3&1

Thomson beat Buchan 3&2

L Wallace beat S Campbell 1up

Sutherland beat Thain 21st

Section 1 handicap

First round:

Fraser Beveridge (Canmore) beat R Peebles (Greenburn) 2up

Michael Gordon (Newmachar) beat Joss Turner (Kemnay) 2&1

Brian Milne beat John Duthie (Peterhead) 2&1

Jim Barber beat Kieran Neish (Duff House Royal) 1up

Calum Smith (Newburgh) beat Craig Stewart 4&3

Albert Smith beat George West 3&1

Neil Ritchie (Thornton) beat Gordon malcolm (St Andrews) 1up

Ian Mutch beat Alastair Rennie 2&1

Andrew Low beat Gary Christie 22nd

Owen Johnston (Fraserburgh) beat Ryan Thomson (Royal Tarlair) 2&1

Robert Cook beat Steven Hadden 21st

A Buchan (Ladybank) beat Roddy Grant (Royal Aberdeen) 4&3

C Black (Thornton) beat Michael Herbertson (Newmachar) 1up

David Cusiter (Royal Burgess) beat Graham Stronach (Meldrum House) 7&6

Joel Watt beat Lewis Campbell 6&5

Liam Joss beat Derek Seivwright 2&1

Second round:

Beveridge beat Gordon 1up

Barber beat Milne 1up

A Smith beat C Smith 2&1

Ritchie beat Mutch 3&2

Johnston beat Low 3&2

Buchan beat Cook 2up

Black beat Cusiter 5&4

Watt beat Joss 7&5

Section 2 handicap

First round:

Calum Spence (Newmachar) beat Leslie Murray 1up

David West beat Colin Farquhar 19th

David Edwards beat Duncan Watt 1up

Paul Brian (Fort William) beat Reyburn Logie (Renfrew) 3&1

N Robertson (Fraserburgh) beat Dale Leslie 1up

Kenneth Dear (Thornton) beat Alexander Wood 2&1

Michael Laird beat Stuart Kelly (Renfrew) 19th

James Mckay beat Ryan Steele 5&4

Ronald Gallon beat Rob Macpherson 8&7

Thomas Calam beat Frank Chalmers 6&5

James Robertson beat Billy Blanchard (Dreamland) 2&1

Bryan Bell beat Kenny Findlay 4&3

Ian Moorhouse (Glenbervie) beat T Smith (Thornton) 1up

Rory Mcdermott beat Derek Mcewen (Bon Accord) 4&3

Graham Leask beat David Stuart (Westhill) 6&5

John Campbell (Renfrew) beat Charles Read (Prestbury) 2up

Second round:

West beat Spence

Edwards beat Brian 2&1

Dear beat Robertson

Gallon beat Calam 5&4

Robertson beat Bell 1up

Mcdermott beat Moorhouse 3&2

Leask beat Campbell w/o

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More