Home   Sport   Article

Galbraith Highlands Tennis league latest: Elgin’s women and mixed teams show their strength on court

By Craig Christie

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Elgin Tennis Club’s women’s A team are stamping their authority on the Galbraith Highlands Tennis first division title chase.

Tennis action.
Tennis action.

Having dropped only one point in their six matches, the latest success came when they travelled to meet second place Rothiemurchus.

The experienced Jasmin Taylor teamed up with 14-year-old Millie Ralph to romp effortlessly through the 1v2 rubber, recording a 6-1, 6-0 scoreline. Their second outing was not so one-sided. Losing the first set 6-4, the duo fought back to level matters. The Elgin pair then ensured their team was up 4-1 by winning the match tiebreak 11-9.

The mission for Isla Dickinson and Kirsty McCalman (second seeds) was to, at least, win one set to achieve overall victory. The pair did the needful against the homesters’ second couple (6-2, 6-2).

Division 2 results: Elgin C 3 Inverness B 7; Grantown A 7 Rothes A 0.

In women’s division 3, Forres A is leading the way in the promotion race. The team’s latest victims were Grantown B.

Sarah Henbrey and Lily Carmichael had a successful evening in winning both their rubbers (6-3, 6-3 and 6-1, 6-0). Pauline Brown and Sharon Carmichael sealed victory with a 6-2, 6-2 defeat of the Grantown second seeds, and taking a set off the visiting first pair.

Aberlour made the long journey down Strathspey to meet Kingussie B in division 4. The teams lie third and second respectively behind leaders Bellfield Park C. The encounter was a game of two halves with the Speysiders first seeds Marjory Stronach won both their rubbers while Kathryn Outram and Anne Findlay lost out. A share of the spoils was the right outcome.

There was mixed fortunes for Elgin’s two men’s teams in the first division.

The first string, A team made the ten mile trip down the A941 to Rothes where they met the Speysiders’ first team, an encounter that ended badly for the Rothesians.

There were a couple of promising scores, had the players taken their chances. In the meeting of the first seeds, Bradley Scott and Martin Johnston were in with a shout of a second set tie-break against Elgin’s Douglas Tait and Harris Nairn, but it was not to be.

In the second seeds’ contest, a first set tie break was required with Rothes’ Ross Elder and Mark Hearns losing it to Kieran Dickinson and Richard Wormald. All-in-all, this was a very straightforward victory for the Elgin quartet.

The Bs were saved from the same whitewash fate that was dished out to Rothes when Dave McPherson and Stuart Thompson took the first set tie-break. The pair came close came close to taking the rubber, losing out 11-9 in the match tie-break. Also playing were James Gresswell and Ed Borrowman.

In Division 2, Forres A’s men went down 5-4 at home to local rivals Nairn. The upshot of the victory is that the seasiders retain the top spot while the chances of promotion for the Forresians have diminished.

In the 2v1 rubber, Eric Jarousek and Andy Williams beat the visiting pair 6-1, 5-7, 10-7, but the loss of that second set was crucial to the final outcome, giving the three points to the visitors. The first seeds for Forres were Lloyd Eastwood and Gavin Ross.

While Elgin A ladies are having a great season, the club’s mixed A team’s season so far has been incredibly successful.

The women had a 100 per cent record which was continued following their 8-1 annihilation of second place Nairn, and a six-point gap has opened up. It is very difficult not to conclude the league trophy will be winging its way to Duff Avenue.

Jasmin Taylor and Douglas Tait lost only three games during the evening. Sally Walker and Lewis Simpson won the 2v1 battle 6-2, 6-4, but they were pushed all the way in the fight against Nairn’s second couple: 6-4, 5-7, 10-8

Rothes A mixed lost 6-2 to Rothiemurchus and Aviemore. Michelle Fraser and Bradley Scott won one match 7-6, 6-2 and lost the other 6-3, 6-4. Jane Sim and Fraser Scott were defeated in both matches.

In Division 2, Elgin B and Forres A met in a significant encounter, the outcome of which would see the winner go top of the league. Elgin went top with a 6-2 win.

Results, Elgin first: Teresa Tait and Stuart Thompson beat Sarah Henbrey and Lloyd Eastwood 6-2, 6-4, beat Shona Marshall and Owen Davidson Knight 6-4, 6-2. Joan Flett and Tim Dickinson lost 6-7, 1-6; won 7-5, 6-2.

16s results. Rothes 4 Grantown 2: Alfie McConnachie lost 1-6, 3-6; Shane Fox won 7-6, 6-0. Alfie & Shane won 6-0, 7-5

14s, Division 1 - Elgin A 0 Bellfield Park 8

Division 2 - Elgin B 6 Rothes 6: Eilidh Anderson lost to Calleigh McConnell 3-6, 1-6; Rose Christie beat Charlie Duckers 6-2, 6-3; Isla Johnston beat Ruairidh Scott 6-1, 6-0; Joseph Asiabani lost to Harris King 2-6, 5-7.

Anderson and Christie beat McConnell and Duckers 6-3, 6-1. Johnston and Asiabani lost to Scott and King 4-6, 5-7.

The Moray section of the 8s tournament came to a conclusion with the Elgin foursome travelling to Rothes to meet both of its teams. The visitors won both fixtures, defeating Rothes B 13-3 and Rothes A 12-4.

Teams: Elgin – Eliza Wilkie, Rafe Dixon, Harry Lyon, James Sey. Rothes A – Roman Leslie, Theo Croasdale, Rosa Fraser, Grace Shortreed. Rothes B – Maisie Stuart, Freya Hood, Felix Myers, Clara Muir.

The final happens this Saturday in the Moray Sports Centre. The semi-finals will be played with the draw being Bellfield Park A v Rothes A; Elgin v Tain A. Alongside those matches, a competition for all the others who played for their club is being held, beginning at 2.30pm.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More