Home   Sport   Article

Progress made by Lhanbryde up Morayshire indoor bowls league rankings

By Craig Christie

LHANBRYDE were the big movers in the Alexander Wallace Toyota League indoor bowling week.

The race for the Morayshire indoor bowls titles is hotting up.
The race for the Morayshire indoor bowls titles is hotting up.

Hosting Duffus, the lost the first game which was won 13-7 by the visitors’ Barney Smith, before Lhanbryde stormed back with Ella Harley starting and finishing impressively to win 18-3.

Brian Speake played solidly against Davy Clarihew to win 10-6 and increase the home advantage. The job was finished by Neil Roger who scored a six and a five on his way to a comfortable 22-8 win and all six points for the hosts.

Leaders Lossiemouth suffered a minor setback against Birnie, with the normally reliable Sandy Wares and Peter Bloomfield both suffering losses in the first session to Bryce Milne and David Parry. Jimmy Edwards and Kevin Donaldson duly delivered for Lossie with superb bowls between them scoring 21 shots in the final five ends to secure a valuable four points.

Paul Coutts and Anne Macintosh gave Forres Victoria a six-shot advantage at Elgin before Andrew Junor reduced the deficit by winning 15-13. The experienced Jim Junor played confidently to guide the home club to four points.

Moray BC powered to victory over champions Hopeman. Steve McKidd and George Robb jnr both scored heavily at crucial ends in the first session to win 14-8 and 14-6 respectively for the Elgin ourfit. Ralph Smith and George Robb snr used all their experience to claim ten out of the 12 ends as Moray cruised to victory.

Burghead made the trip to Lossie BC, with young Brocher Cameron Leggat scoring five on the final end to finish level with Alex Stewart. John Ross won the final two ends to secure the first two points for Burghead. Lossie made a spirited effort through Tam Stewart and George Jack to get something out the match, but in-form Burghead pair Ryan Gordon and Brian Davidson won the important ends for a hard-earned victory as Burghead start to mount a title challenge.

Forres RBL entertained leaders Fochabers with Ted Lamsdell playing superbly to lead 7-0 after three ends. Helen Morrison manufactured a three on the fourth end for the visitors and Lamsdell led 10-7 after nine ends. Morrison showed great resolve scoring seven on the 10th end on the way to a 17-10 win.

Jake Morrison played key bowls in the middle section of his match and three shots on the final end gave the leaders a 12-shot cushion.

Jason Cameron and Mike Brown fought back in the second session, at one stage tying the overall match. But Fochabers dug deep through Mark Woodhouse and John Wiles to win the final three ends and another four points.

Alves gained the upper hand on Bishopmill, mainly thanks to Colin Taylor winning 25-10, while Stuart Young won a closer encounter 14-11. Mike Anderson played superb bowls for a 19-6 Alves win and Derek Paterson wrapped up the six points for the home team, winning 11-7.

Results, First Division:Forres RBL 42, Fochabers 46; Lossie BC 43, Burghead 53; Alves 69, Bishopmill 34; Moray BC 66, Hopeman 20.

Second Division: Lossiemouth 49, Birnie 40; Elgin 47, Forres Victoria 44; Lhanbryde 57 Duffus 30.

Association Rinks quarter-finals: Alves (C Taylor) 20, Moray BC (S. McKidd) 6; Forres Victoria (I Stuart) 11, Elgin (A Junor) 12; Fogwatt (G Wiles) 24, Duffus (A Morgan) 7; Forres RBL (T Lamsdell) 10, Bishopmill (R Garrow) 14.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More