Home   Sport   Article

Presidential performance from indoor bowlers at Ed Beattie tribute event

By Staff Reporter

Contribute to support quality local journalism

THE Moray indoor bowling fraternity paid tribute to a former colleague in a special event held in his memory.

Alistair Longwell (centre) with the winners, from left: Malcolm Fletcher, Tam Stewart, John Mitchell, Lee Denoon.
Pictures: Pete Bloomfield
Alistair Longwell (centre) with the winners, from left: Malcolm Fletcher, Tam Stewart, John Mitchell, Lee Denoon. Pictures: Pete Bloomfield

Last week saw the third running of the Ed Beattie memorial match, hosted by Elgin’s Moray Bowling Club.

A team representing the Moray Indoor Bowling Association presidents took on a squad representing Ed, who played for many years in the league. The squads were made up of players from all 15 clubs in the association.

Ed’s team made a bright start in the opening match with Mark Woodhouse building up a 5-1 lead after five ends.

Steve McKidd, playing on his own carpets, counted three on the sixth end to reduce the deficit but Woodhouse won the next four ends to lead 11-4. McKidd scored a double on end 11, and Woodhouse replied with a single on the last end for a comfortable 12 -6 victory.

Davy Clarihew started even more impressively for Ed’s team, going 9-0 up after four ends. Charles Stewart replied with singles in ends six and nine, and also won ends 11 and 12 to bring respectability to the score with Clarihew running out a 14-7 winner.

Trailing by 13 shots, the Presidents team required a fast start and John Mitchell jnr duly delivered with a count of 5 on the fourth end followed by a 3 as he built up a 12-0 advantage. Harry Milne responded for Ed’s team with a double on end six, but Mitchell scored doubles at the next two ends and claimed a 19-5 victory.

The final match proved to be a much tighter affair with Bill Robertson leading Keith Thompson 4-3 after six ends. Robertson then scored a three for the President’s team but this was cancelled out by three singles by Thompson.

A hammer blow was delivered in the penultimate end with Robertson scoring four shots and despite Thompson replying with a three on the final end, the President’s team ran out overall winners by three shots.

This was the presidents’ first victory in the three years of the Ed Beattie memorial match.

The event raised a total of £400, with two-thirds being presented to a Parkinson’s charity at Moray BC later this year and the remainder going to association funds.

Sponsors Ardmore distillery were thanked for their continued backing of the competition, with senior manager Alistair Longwell attending the event and presenting the awards.

A malt whisky prize was handed over to the winning President’s team of: L Denoon (Fogwatt), T Stewart (Lossie BC) M Fletcher (Moray BC) J Mitchell jnr (skip) (Lhanbryde).

Ed’s team received a Teacher’s whisky as runners-up, their team made up of: A Anderson (Elgin), G Gallagher (Alves), A Shaw (Bishopmill) and D Clarihew (skip) (Duffus).

Association vice-president Bryce Milne presented Ed Beattie’s wife Carol with a bouquet of flowers.

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More