Home   Sport   Article

Great year for Lossiemouth, Fochabers and Burghead while honours still to be decided in Morayshire indoor bowling league

By Craig Christie

Contribute to support quality local journalism

MORAYSHIRE Indoor Bowling Association have put their finals night and showpiece rinks final match on hold due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The Morayshire indoor bowling season was almost completed before the coronavirus outbreak.
The Morayshire indoor bowling season was almost completed before the coronavirus outbreak.

An October date has been pencilled in to bring the curtain down on another successful season. Ron Garrow (Bishopmill) and Colin Taylor (Alves) will contend the rinks final.

Team of the year could well be Lossiemouth for their outstanding achievement in winning the Second Division championship for the first time in their history, winning 10 out of 11 league matches.

Fochabers took the First Division crown for the first time since 1991, with extremely consistent team performances, scoring points on all but one of their league matches to wrap up the championship with one game remaining.

The Speyside outfit also retained the association singles title.

Burghead enjoyed a fine year, winning the association pairs and Campbell Cup singles in a dramatic last bowl conclusion. Victor Ryan Gordon now only requires the pairs title to become the youngest player within the association to win all five major accolades.

Fogwatt secured the triples title with a superb performance against Moray BC, Gordon Wiles becoming arguably the oldest skip to win one of the big prizes while Moray had their own success in winning the Ed Beattie Memorial Charity in a memorable final against Burghead.

Lhanbryde clinched the second automatic promotion place to the First Division.

Roll of honour:

Alexander Wallace (Toyota) First Division winners: Fochabers. Runners-up: Alves.

Second Division winners: Lossiemouth. Runners-up: Lhanbryde.

Singles champion: Ross Andrews (Fochabers): Runner-up: Graeme Taylor (Alves).

Campbell Cup: Ryan Gordon (Burghead). Runner-up: Ron Garrow (Bishopmill).

Pairs champions: Davie Cameron, Brian Davidson (Burghead).

Runners-up: Lee Denoon, Ronnie Watt (Fogwatt).

Triples winners: Fogwatt (Lee Denoon, Ronnie Watt, Gordon Wiles). Runners-up: Moray BC.

Ed Beattie Memorial winners: Moray BC. Runners-up: Burghead.

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More