Home   News   Article

Watch: Debut season success for Moray ploughing champion

By David Porter

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

A sunny but cold Saturday saw top north-east ploughers welcomed to Blindmills, near Fyvie in Aberdeenshire for the 2024 Grampian Supermatch.

Grampian Supermatch 2024. Picture: David Porter
Grampian Supermatch 2024. Picture: David Porter

Several of this season's events had been cancelled due to the stormy and wet weather, but ahead of Sunday's snow, competitors were eager to get into action.

Now in its 36th year, the event sees league leaders across various tractor and plough categories from the oldest vintage machinery to the latest multi-farrow reversible ploughs complete their season and vie for the overall championship.

With over 30 competitors taking part across seven sections, there was a strong turn-out to support the event which was sponsored by Turriff and District Agricultural Association.

Katie McDonald examines her work so far at the Grampian Supermatch. Picture: David Porter
Katie McDonald examines her work so far at the Grampian Supermatch. Picture: David Porter

Top honours went to Ian McDonald from Grange with the reserve overall to John Sivewright from Meigle in Perthshire while in the leagues there was a debut season win for Katie McDonald from Elgin in the multi-furrow who last year made history as the first female winner of the Moray ploughing match which was held at Linkwood.

League Winners

Conventional Plot - Mark Skea (Inverurie).

2 Furrow Reversible Hydraulic - Scott Alexander (Laurencekirk).

2 Furrow Reversible Non Hydraulic - Colin Forbes (Elgin).

Multi-Furrow - Katie McDonald (Elgin) .

Vintage Mounted - R. McDonald (Kingswells).

Vintage Trailing - Doug Stewart (New Deer).

Most Points Feering and Finish - Doug Stewart and Mark Skea.

Youngest Competitor - Alexander Stevenson (Banff).

Supermatch Winners

Best plot by conventional plough – 1 I McDonald; 2 J Sivewright and 3 W Grieve.

Best plot by 2 furrow reversible hydraulic plough – 1 S Alexander and 2 E Proctor.

Best plot by non-hydraulic reversible – 1 D Towns; 2 C Forbes and 3 G Gilbert.

Best plot by multi-furrow plough - 1 J Morrison; 2 K Grieve and 3 K McDonald.

Best plot vintage mounted – 1 A Davidson; 2 H Sutherland and 3 R McDonald.

Best plot vintage trailing – 1 D Stewart; 2 R Bain and 3 D Clarihew.

Demonstrators – 1 HRN; 2 Sellars and 3 CC Powell.

Best young farmer - Keiran Grieve, Turriff.

Best work done by a 21year old and under - Keiran Grieve, Turriff.

Best combined feering and finish reversible - Scott Alexander, Laurencekirk.

Best combined feering and finish conventional - Ian McDonald, Grange.

Plot with straightest furrows - Ian McDonald, Grange.

Overall Vintage - Alistair Davidson, Crimond.

Reserve Overall - John Sivewright, Meigle.

Graham Whyte Trophy for the Overall - Ian McDonald, Grange.

Grampain Supermatch committee said: "We would like to say a big thank you to all the competitors who came to the 36th Annual Supermatch at Blindmills.

"Thankfully the weather was quite kind to us and it was very cold but stayed dry as long as we needed it to.

"We would also like to thank Gary Mearns for hosting this years match as without you there wouldn't be a match. "The ground conditions were really good considering the amount of rain there has been. "

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More