Home   Sport   Article

PICTURES: Forres Golf Club five-day open - all the winners after final day of action

By Craig Christie

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Colin Mackay was crowned champion at Forres Golf Club's five-day open.

Grant Cup Winner: Colin MacKay.. .Forres Golf Club 5 Day Open 2023...Picture: Daniel Forsyth..
Grant Cup Winner: Colin MacKay.. .Forres Golf Club 5 Day Open 2023...Picture: Daniel Forsyth..

In an all-Forres final of the scratch matchplay competition, the Grant Cup, Mackay defeated club colleague Marc Dingwall 4&3 in Friday's final.

Birdies were hard to come by in a tense final where Mackay was always in control.

He won the first, Dingwall squared it up before Mackay won the 3rd, 8th and 9th holes to go 3 up at the turn.

The tenth was bogeyed by both players and Dingwall missed a five-foot birdie putt to reduce the deficit on 11.

A par was enough to push Mackay four holes ahead on 12 and although Dingwall won the 14th, another Mackay par secured the victory with three to play.

Picture gallery by Daniel Forsyth from the five-day open.

Mackay beat reigning champ Bryan Fotheringham by a hole in the quarter-finals, then claimed a 6&4 victory over Ian Dawson in the semis.

Marc Dingwall edged out Ivor MacKenzie and Steven Buchan, both by 2&1 margins.

Two former Forres Mechanics footballers battled it out for the Fraser Cup, fittingly contested by two Frasers.

Steven Fraser defeated Matty Fraser to secure the silverware.

Hopeman's Corey Black beat Moray rival Caiol Provan 4&3 to clinch the Capri Tray.

Bryan Fotheringham lifted the Stevenson Cup, Jack Kendrick was the Forres Cup winner and Ryan Mackenzie, Steven Fraser and Neil Rainey teamed up to take the Dr Adam Trophy.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More